Why Should Undergraduates Attend Classes?

I’ve just finished teaching classes for the Quantum Mechanics B course here at Queen Mary. It’s been an enjoyable few weeks, watching the students grapple with bra-ket notation, spherical harmonics and the Stern-Gerlach experiment. All in all, I’ve found it rather rewarding.

A perennial bugbear is that many undergraduates don’t turn up for the classes. Although nominally compulsory, the university rarely imposes any sanctions for lack of attendance. It’s natural to wonder whether there’s any benefit in running the sessions!

I decided to do some elementary analysis to determine any correlation between class attendance and performance. Fortunately, the results were favourable – students who come to class tend to do better than those who don’t. And what’s more, the gap widens as the term goes on!

Effect of Attending Classes

I’d like to conclude that this effect is due to the usefulness of my teaching, of course. But my scientific brain doesn’t allow such an easy deduction. After all, correlation does not imply causation! To say anything more we’d need a control study, which is unlikely to happen any time soon!

Still, I can now tell my undergraduate students that they’re more likely to succeed if they come to class. Flawed logic aside, surely that means I’m doing something right?

Leave a Reply

