Journal Club

It’s been a while since I last posted – research life has become rather hectic! This week has been one of firsts. I’ve given my first PhD talk (on twistors), marked my first set of undergrad work (on QED) and taught my first class (on rotating frames). Meanwhile, I’ve been trying to fathom the mysterious amplituhedron that’s got many physicists excited. I hope you’ll forgive my extended blog absence.

To tide you over until the next full article, take a look at our new journal club website. The PhD students at CRST get together once a week to discuss recent advances or fundamental principles. It’s a great opportunity for us to keep up to date with work in diverse areas of theory. We’ve decided to make resources from our meetings publicly available.

Why? I hear you ask. I believe that science is best done openly. A quick browse of our website gives the layman a taste of what researchers get up to day to day. Moreover our compilation of topics, ideas and resources may be thought-provoking for other students. Keeping an online record of our meetings is the best way to benefit others outside the confines of an individual institution.

I promise I’ll be back this weekend with another popsci article. I’ll talk about five big mathematical ideas in modern physics and explain why they’re cool!

Finally, a shout out to my colleague Brenda Penante who has a paper out on the arXiv today. The paper focusses on an interesting generalization of scattering amplitudes, known as form factors. These can be used for experimental approximation but also give a deep insight into the structure of QFT.

The paper today pushes back the boundaries of our knowledge about form factors. As we chip away at the coal face of QFT, who knows what jewels we might find?

One thought on “Journal Club”

Leave a Reply

